Council Members

The Local Highway Technical Assistance Council (LHTAC) was established in 1994 to represent Idaho cities, counties, and highway districts with transportation needs. LHTAC is funded by a small portion (less than 1%) of the local highway’s share of the state’s Highway Distribution Account and is governed by equal representation of city, county, and highway district elected officials from all regions of the state.

Our Council Meetings are always open to the public and we encourage you to attend to see what is on LHTAC’s upcoming agenda.

Executive Council Members

Phil Lampert, Chairman

Mac Pooler, Vice Chairman

Kevin Renfrow, Secretary/Treasurer


Council Members

Gilbert Hofmeister, Commissioner, Power County Highway District


Todd Smith, Commissioner, Madison County


Robert (BJ) Berlin, Mayor, City of Roberts


Neal Gier, Commissioner, Buhl Highway District


Phil Lampert, Commissioner, Benewah County


Mac Pooler, Mayor, City of Kellogg


Kari Peterson, Councilmember, City of  Fruitland


Kevin Renfrow, Commissioner, South Latah Highway District 


Mark Rekow, Commissioner, Gem County


Seth Grigg Ex-Officio, Executive Director, Idaho Association of Counties, IAC


Kelley Packer Ex-Officio, Executive Director, Association of Idaho Cities, AIC


Nick Veldhouse, Ex-Officio, Executive Director, Idaho Association of Highway Districts, IAHD